Word of the day- Comorbid

Standard

IMG_2021

Medical Definition of COMORBID

– existing simultaneously with and usually independently of another medical condition

(thanks Merriam-Webster)

The word comorbid sounds weird. We know morbid is a strange fascination with subjects like death. However, when you look at the medical definition of morbid it means a disease. So co morbid means plural disease. That makes sense now.

I have more than one disease at the same time.  A lot of people do.  I am not sure that greater society knows this can often happen. I also think there is a lot of uncertainty about why this is.

Is there a family tree, and I have cousin diseases? Or is fibromyalgia on a completely different branch to inflammatory arthritis?

I have inflammatory arthritis, which isn’t rheumatoid arthritis but similar. It may eventually be known as something else as symptoms develop, but I hope not. Are these two brother and sister?

Nothing is ever straightforward. Labels can be helpful and unhelpful. I am still trying to work out which symptoms go with which illness. Maybe the medical profession can focus on clearing up what fibromyalgia is and we can all get over the unanswered questions.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for doing blog on the word comorbid! I greatly appreciate you doing this I know I use it all the time even though I forget most people don’t understand what the word means. I was premed prior to my diagnosis and other comorbid illnesses that came along in the past 10 years that’s causing you to go on disability but I still use the medical terminology and tend to confuse, at least, most people in general.
    I even freak out some doctors with my knowledge and understanding of the medical workings of the hospital and also the terminology.
    Again, thank you for the great short post in the word of the day!
    I hope you’re having a low pain day and best day possible, since this “poler vortex” has made the temperature drop faster and barometric pressure changes for those of us who are so sensitive to temperature, texture and pressure.
    -Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

    • You have so much experience with illnesses and doctors. I can’t imagine still being like this in 10 or 20 years.
      I’m on the other side of the globe. It’s very warm and spitting with rain here 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

