Learnt behaviours

Standard

I know that I was taught to work hard.

I know that I was taught to persist.

I know that I was taught to be tough.

I know that I was taught to strive for success.

but

I am not sure if I was taught to find enjoyment just for enjoyment’s sake.

I am not sure if I was taught to seek happiness.

and

I know I was not taught how to deal with obstacles that mess with your mind and your life.

Please enjoy your only life

About lisasretro

I'm a 41 year old teacher, single and have one adult son. I'm currently finding a new me and new style of living while learning to manage chronic illness. In short, my mind is over active and my body can't keep up. I love art, retro and vintage stuff, eclectic fashion and travelling anywhere and everywhere. I often also get all caught up in social justice issues, my fave being marriage equality, until it happens here in Aus. Bucket list enabled, hold on tight.

4 responses »

  1. I really connect with this post because I too was taught all these things too, but struggle just taking a break for enjoyment’s sake. My parents were working frequently to better themselves and our lives. My parents begain life at poverty level and when my Dad died in March of this year he and my mother had pulled themsleves up by thier bootstraps to upper middle class level. I think I also don’t “seek out enjoyment for enjoyment’s sake” becasue I rarely saw my parents do so, but they taught us to find enjoyment in everyday situations and to make the work you had to do as enjoyable as posssible.

    When I was born my parents had been married for 4yrs and already had my older brother who was 2yrs (and a few months) older than me. We were both supprises so when I entered the family my parents were on assistance and if not for the kindness of my grandparents we never would have all we needed. My parents always supported my brother and me working or doing odd jobs to earn money for ourselves. I started babysitting at 11yrs old and worked almost every night of the week even during the school year, I just simply did my homework after the children went to bed or started it while they watched TV or a movie.

    I hope that you taught ourself to seek out happiness and enjoyment on your own. I also hope you learned to use the skills you did learn to overcome the obstacles of the mind and life. From what I have read in your past blogs you have done a great job at it.

    My Dad taught me to find happiness in taking care of myself physically and mentaly. He once bought me a spa card so could get a mani-pedi (before my accident and chronic pain) and a facial so I could relax and find happiness in caring for my body, mind and soul.

    I hope I interperted this correctly and these are things you learned from your parents and others while growing up. If I miss intuperted this please forgive me and also for my long winded response to your blog.

    Wishing you low pain days and the best health possible,
    -Andrea

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

