Is it ok to be sad?

Standard

Eeyore under a cloud

Is it ok to be sad?

If you have had someone close to you die or you are having a relationship upheaval, then you are expected to be sad. Acceptable sad. You get lots of understanding and support with this sad.

What if, you just suddenly feel sad?

Maybe you are tired of life sad? Thinking about your life sad? Confusing situations sad? Woke up with sad? Those are worrying sads. Those sads are hard to understand, hard to support.  Those sads are risky so we fear them. What if one of those sads put you into a low so low that it became depression? Depression is disastrous.

The problem is, sad won’t be controlled. Maybe we should just accept sad and not fear it. That will take the wind out of its sails. Sad is just sad, that is all.

About lisasretro

I'm a 41 year old teacher, single and have one adult son. I'm currently finding a new me and new style of living while learning to manage chronic illness. In short, my mind is over active and my body can't keep up. I love art, retro and vintage stuff, eclectic fashion and travelling anywhere and everywhere. I often also get all caught up in social justice issues, my fave being marriage equality, until it happens here in Aus. Bucket list enabled, hold on tight.

2 responses »

  1. I think it is okay, but I have been told otherwise. Whenever I talk to people about being said they say I am being too negative and need to be more optimistic. When I forcing myself to look on the bright side of things, I end up feel like a fake. And so I think it’s okay to be sad, but that’s just me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

