Word of the day- Blethering

Standard

IMG_2021.JPG

Blethering (also blathering)

Present participle

From the verb blather
-to talk continuously about things that are not important (Google)
-to talk long-windedly without making very much sense (Macmillan)

Usage
In my blog I keep blethering on.

Origin
North of England/Scotland

About lisasretro

I'm a 41 year old teacher, single and have one adult son. I'm currently finding a new me and new style of living while learning to manage chronic illness. In short, my mind is over active and my body can't keep up. I love art, retro and vintage stuff, eclectic fashion and travelling anywhere and everywhere. I often also get all caught up in social justice issues, my fave being marriage equality, until it happens here in Aus. Bucket list enabled, hold on tight.

3 responses »

  1. Hi Lisa

    Thanks for the follow. Wanted to leave a comment for you, and as this is one of my favourite words it seemed appropriate – am always accusing my son of blethering! (I live in the Midlands/North of England)

    Your positivity is inspiring. Keep posting, and smiling!

    Al

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Al, thanks for the comment. This word was unknown to me until the day I posted this. The Scottish expert on Antiques Roadtrip, Anita Manning, introduced it to me and I just love the word!

      Like

Leave a Reply

